Reaching out and going within

Oz Linux

Image via Wikipedia

This is a personal, journal style blog to help me on my inner healing journey on all levels – body, mind and spirit.  You are my “journey buddy!”

There are several reasons I started this:

  • Keep me honest to my goals
  • Motivate myself to stay with it every day
  • Help me focus inward and learn to hear, trust and follow the still, small voice of my highest self
  • Connect with others on this path, for support and camaraderie

So, what are my goals?

I intend to find physical, emotional and spiritual practices that really work for me and facilitate living an enlightened, fulfilled life.

And no, I’m not really doing that now.  I’ve done pretty well, yet I know there is more for me.

Specifically, I want to eat foods that make my body happy and my mind clear.

I don’t know for sure what that will look like; there are a few things I know and will start doing, and I hope you’ll help fulfill one of the missions of my blog by keeping me honest.

I have decided to refrain from eating sugar and all other refined carbohydrates for a full year.  365 days.  By then it’ll be a lifestyle.  I know these substances don’t work for me.

I want to do some form of inner work every day. 

It could be prayer, meditation, healing techniques I’ve learned, inner child work, dreamwork, emotional clearing or conscious breathing.

I want to do some movement almost every day.

Also known as exercise, but not limited to a sport – 6x/week, 1 rest day.

My posts will include every single thing I’m doing – my food and exercise logs, my healing practices, the cool things I find out about, and most importantly, how I feel physically, emotionally, mentally and spiritually.

I don’t claim to be any kind of writer.  I WILL make an effort to include you by being as articulate as possible.

I would like your feedback – gently.  If I say something that doesn’t make sense to you, please ask me about it.  If I say something that goes against what I said I was going to do without explanation, then call me on it. If I write something that inspires you, please share.  If I could present something better or more clearly, let me know, and I’ll check it out.  And share your blogging tips!

I just ask you to remember that this is my journey and you don’t have to agree with it for yourself.

Soon I’ll post my background and what led me to this point in my life; my story.

For now, here’s my food log:

Breakfast: 12:45 pm – 2 lg. eggs, 2 strips uncured turkey bacon, 2 slices Ezekial bread, 2 oz. part skim mozzarella, 1 medium mango

Lunch: 6:00pm – 4 oz. broiled turkey breast, 2 c. cooked collards, 1 c. black eyed peas (for good luck!)

Snack:  8:30pm – 8 oz. unsweetened almond milk chocolate, 4 oz cherries, 2 oz. blueberries, 1 scoop whey protein powder, 1 dropper liquid stevia

Exercise:  rest day

Inner Work:  just before waking, i had an amazing dream.  in it were alot of people that i have had resentments against, yet in the dream they were very supportive, emotionally available and loving.  i kept finding new rooms to explore, as if following a mystery.

i was left with a feeling that things are alright even though i don’t yet know the outcome.  one person with whom i’ve struggled to find connection was particularly beautiful and open-hearted.  i felt like i had always known this side existed, and finally they were showing it to me… it felt like a breakthrough.  Part of me realized that this person was also me.

Throughout the day I kept feeling that one shining mage of that person, and my heart would feel happy, like problems can be resolved – on the inner, if not literally with that person.

About innerhealthjourney

I'm a healer. I am into new age spirituality, healthy food, hiking and disc golf.
This entry was posted in Welcome and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reaching out and going within

  1. Faith says:

    Yay!!! You did it!! congratulations–it looks awesome!! love the title, the layout,the ‘tagline’ (reaching out and going within), as well as many, many more details. I am super proud of you!!!

  2. Nalini says:

    Lovely … a chosen path …

    It was really startling seeing your breakfast! It sounds yummy. So – the biggest issue is the wheat and sugar?

    • Thanks for commenting.

      LOL to my bfast startling you!

      Well all processed food is what I realized I was wanting to say, so I think I put that on the About page. Believe me, coffee (fermented, roasted, ground, boiled/steamed) is off limits and alcohol is highly suspect. In a way they fall under the highly processed category. In a sense, so does cheese 😦 I’m limiting that. I have an experimental list, where i have a question mark about certain things. I want to check them out when there are no other variables but one item, and i’m alone with quiet time, to really be able to pay attention to how it affects me.

      The alcohol feels esp. dangerous to me for its release of inhibitions (to overeating among other things – saw that on New Years Eve!)) so I don’t want to ever do it when there are off limits foods around. I’ll see if I feel off balance when i do it or afterwards. I already have found that one is my limit if i want to stay balanced and in control. It only seemes desireable in social settings where everyone is doing it, but i have experienced having just as much fun, without it at all.

Leave a Reply

