DAY 25

FOOD LOG
Breakfast: 8:00am – 4 oz clean chicken sausage (homemade), 1/2 c soaked steel-cut oats mixed with 6 oz apple, 1 c plain, low-fat yogurt & 12 drops liquid saccharin sweetener
Lunch: 1:30pm – 4 oz broiled salmon with Seafood Magic, 1 c sauteed kale w/onions, 1 c sautéed zucchini, 1 c brown rice
Dinner: 7:00pm – 4 oz ground turkey , 1 c refried beans, 1 T salsa, 2 c mixed baby greens/sliced beets/alfalfa sprouts, 1 T Newman’s Own Olive Oil and Vinegar dressing
Metabolic: 9:00pm – 1 c plain. low-fat yogurt, 6 oz frozen strawberries, 12 drops liquid saccharin sweetener

EXERCISE LOG
1-1/2 hours scrubbing furniture, cabinets and baseboards

30 min easy walking

30 sec plank pose

Not exercise, but contributing to my barefoot running, I wore my Five Fingers shoes to get used to them and build up my foot strength and flexibility while cleaning for two hours.

I also drove various loops around my neighborhood, clocking the mileage on my odometer.  I found a 1.5 mile loop, and for future training, a 2.o mile loop and a 3.2 mile loop.

There is a cool website that also can help find mileage for various routes.  http://gmap-pedometer.com.  It’s designed for picking running and cycling routes.  You click on “start recording,” then double-click at each turn to make a route, which you can name and save.  You can turn on mile markers to see how it’s adding up and even ask it to complete the return trip.  Calories burned will be calculated if you want (uses your weight, but still, I’m not sure how it does that accurately, unless it assumes your speed).  The workout log looks handy if you’re not tracking anywhere else.  Lastly, you can print out the map and also share on Twitter and Facebook.

INNER WORK
Read Alcoholics Anonymous (the Big Book), the chapters, “The Doctor’s Opinion,” “Bill’s Story,” “There is a Solution” and “How It Works” to reflect on my powerlessness over sugar flour and wheat, and the unmanageablity of my life while eating those substances, which for me are addictive.

One thought is that I imagine everyone’s life is unmanageable when they are trying to do it all by themselves (without a Higher Power).  I know mine is, and I don’t expect that is going to change by eating abstinently.  I do think it will be easier to REMEMBER to ask for my HP to guide my life when I’m not whacked out on sugar.  Ask and ye shall receive…it works!

About innerhealthjourney

I'm a healer. I am into new age spirituality, healthy food, hiking and disc golf.
This entry was posted in 12 Steps, Barefoot Running, Spiritual Guidance, Step Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DAY 25

  1. tracyjai says:

    i love reading your blog everyday. thanks for all the links to great sites and great ideas. i’m going to check the route site out right now. fyi; the steel cut oat serving is 1/3c dry.

    i, too love the big book and am reminded to read it more often. thanks again.

    i got some five fingers shoes and wore them for the first time yesterday. they feel great but i didn’t last long in them which is why you have to work up gradually i guess. right? a little everyday is the ticket. if i could just stick to that. LOL it sounds so simple, just not that easy. 🙂
    tracy

    • Glad you like it and that it’s helpful to you.

      I had a lot of fun last night creating multiple routes, multiple distances for measured places to run and bike.
      Umm, now I have to actually go and run them *gulp*

      I think Vibram recommends only 30-40 mins a day the first week (after having worn them around the house for a couple of hours).
      Yeah, simple but not that easy. Like 30 secs a day of plank…I keep forgetting to do it!
      Back to the shoes – I bring them with me, but for some reason once I get my feet just right in my usual shoes, they seem so happy and comfortable, that I just want to leave them be!
      Of course, I realize not everyone is as lucky as me, to be able to wear their Merrell’s everyday, all day…

      Thx for the steel cut oat measurement. I am confused. I thought it was 1/4 c steel cut and 1/4 c oat bran…Is it different when it is the only grain?
      And doesn’t it take 1/2 c dry oats to make a full cup of cooked grain?

Leave a Reply

