DAY 26

FOOD LOG

Breakfast: Bowl Of Heaven (8 oz tofu, 1 c brown rice, 1 c yogurt, 6 oz frozen berries, 15 drops liquid saccharin)

Lunch: 1 c amaranth, 2 c grain free tabbouleh (incl 1 T olive oil), 4 oz roast Turkey

Dinner: 4 oz salmon, 1 c butternut squash, 2 c carrot cauliflower tarragon soup

Metabolic: 1 c soymilk, 6 oz frozen peaches, 1 t minced ginger, 15 drops liquid saccharin, dash vanilla

The breakfast (a new recipe) was pretty yummy today! Finally another egg free breakfast I really like! Still looking for delicious, simple, quick and eggless breakfasts, so I can get my egg intake down to 4 eggs (2 breakfasts) per week.

Really strong cravings this evening before and after dinner, and again after my metabolic. I felt compelled to eat both meals at the earliest possible time (5 hrs instead of 6). Still hungry after they were done, and too early for bed (not a bad technique if the timing works for it IMO!)

The advice when that happens is to review the food eaten first, rereading labels for any hidden sugar.

Here are all the names sugar can be called and all the forms of sugar or highly refined carbs that are not on the RFA food plan I follow:

Sugar, dextrose, sucrose, maltose, fructose, maltodextrin, dextrin, xanthan gum, guar gum, corn syrup, high fructose corn syrup, corn starch, honey, agave syrup, malt, barley malt, caramel color, rice syrup, glycerin (there are probably others; I’ll keep researching and update this)

Also to be avoided and craving causing ingredients:

MSG and yeast extract (spices natural flavors may or may not be problem ingredients. It is necessary to actually call the company who makes the food and ask them if there are any forms of sweetener or msg).

I had strong cravings all evening. I reviewed everything and I hadn’t drunk as much water as usual. Having more seemed to help.

EXERCISE LOG

Rest Day; tired, stiff and sore.

INNER WORK

I read the first two chapters from Alcoholics Anonymous (aka the Big Book), which correspond to Step One reflections: The Doctor’s Opinion and Bill’s Story.

Lately my neck has been feeling much better. I have been doing a combination of physically stretching and massaging it, breathing into the spot (C3/4 on the right), and working on turning away from experiences I don’t want and conscious turning toward the experiences that make me happy with my thoughts and actions. It’s more challenging than it sounds, and I’m constantly reminded of habits of thinking that I want to shift to this new way of thinking.

An example: this morning I was noticing my little finger, which had several cuts on the knuckle. I was thinking, “I can’t even remember what I did to injure it,” and “why was it getting so beat up?” Then I was running late and forgot to even put a band aid on it.

Then at work, somehow when cutting the vegetables, I actually managed to cut the very same finger in the exact same place! I’m not one of those people who look for signs in everything that happens, but this was too much of a “coincidence” to ignore! I could just decide that was how I’d injured it before, but as I rode my motorcycle away from that job, I had the thought that it had happened because that’s exactly what I had been focusing on that morning. Whatever you focus on expands. I at least could’ve thought about how I could take care of it this morning, about how I want to keep it safe and protected and be more mindful of it, and have it heal quickly. This is what I’m talking about, with turning away from negatives and turning toward positives.

About innerhealthjourney

I'm a healer. I am into new age spirituality, healthy food, hiking and disc golf.
This entry was posted in 12 Steps, Spiritual Guidance, Step Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DAY 26

  1. Nalini says:

    I think tired stiff and sore deserves a rest! Sounds to me like you have been going at things like gang busters. You remind me that I like cauliflower …

Leave a Reply

