DAY 32

FOOD LOG

B: 8am Blueberry Muffin Tops (recipe) Found out from my sponsor that I should be using 1/2 c cottage cheese for my dairy portion. I’ve changed the recipe page to reflect the change

L: 1pm 4 oz whitefish, 2 T Kay’s stir fry sauce (Bragg’s, Garlic, Ginger -terribly salty for my tastes, but I made 3 servings of it!), 8 oz baked sweet potato, 2 c tabouli ( incl 1 T olive oil, 1 T lemon Juice) Please see Recipes tab

D: 6 pm Morrocan Lemon Chicken new recipe! (including 4 oz chicken, 2 t lemon juice), 1 c brown rice, 2 c carrot cauliflower puréed soup

M: 10pm 1 c soy milk, 15 drops liquid saccharin, 6 oz frozen strawberries

Planned on persimmon tonight, but my sponsor let me know it is too sweet to be on the food plan–a good reason to report my planned food ahead of time.

EXERCISE LOG

20 mins barefoot walk, slow dog walk/sniff; good for earthing and reflexology

32 mins stationary bike; moved the bike into the living room in front of the television–it really passed the time; a great rainy night exercise

INNER WORK

None

EARTHING

Also known as Grounding, Earthing is the practice of getting into physical contact with the Earth. We are the only species that doesn’t have regular, direct skin contact with the earth’s surface through walking, standing and sleeping. The surface is said to have an ionic energy field that supplies a continuous, unlimited, free supply of negative ions, which are anti-inflammatory.

Since so many degenerative diseases are now found to be caused by inflammation, the Earth is a great resource for neutralizing free radicals that damage and age our bodies.

I started out standing and walking barefoot for maybe an hour a day. It was one of the reasons I liked barefoot running. I quickly realized that my opportunities were limited by weather and temperatures, plus available free time. So did the founder of the current Earthing movement. He devised a way to connect when sleeping.

It turns out that properly wired homes have their circuits grounded directly into the Earth, hence the term grounding. The third, round hole at the bottom of any proper electrical outlet has been connected to wiring leading literally into the Earth at some place in the construction. If you have a home that is over 25 years old, the outlets may just have the two parallel slots, and that means your electrical system is not grounded, and you will not be able to take advantage of it to ground your body. That’s okay, because there are other ways to do it.

The way I do it, blessed with grounded outlets as I am, is to plug a conductive material (a long metal screw) into the third round hole of the outlet. That connects me to the Earth. The other end is connected to me by a simple wire. Instead of putting a scratchy wire to my skin, I connected that to a large flat washer, for a comfortable connection that I can just lie on while sleeping.

I don’t claim to know much about electricity, so I got an outlet tester to make sure my outlets were grounded. Sometimes a clever handyman has put in the 3 hole outlet covers or even the plug in part, but it is not actually wired to the Earth. I also read about how electrical wiring works in a home, because I still felt a little freaked out about plugging myself into an outlet!

Many people have reported improvement of sleep, joint and muscle pain, and other wonderful results. I have not definitely noticed a difference (which is usually noticed immediately), but for some reason I keep doing it anyway. It makes sense to me that it would be helpful. Anyway, it’s effortless now that I have the device rigged up.

I really enjoy walking barefoot on the Earth when weather permits and I’m not in a hurry to get anywhere. I just like the sensuality of feeling the grass between my toes and the different textures under my feet–oh, and the sand at the beach! The ions are conducted through soil, metal and stone, but not wood or asphalt. Makes me want to rethink my deck.

About innerhealthjourney

I'm a healer. I am into new age spirituality, healthy food, hiking and disc golf.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

