DAY 47

FOOD LOG

Breakfast:  8am  – KS Pumpkin Pie (recipe)

Lunch:  1:45pm  – 4 oz Moroccan Chicken (recipe), 1 c brown rice, 2 c sautéed Brussels sprouts w/1 T lime juice

Dinner:  8pm  – 4 oz Tempeh with Nutritional Yeast Gravy (recipe), 3 c steamed broccoli

Metabolic:  None

Planning to sleep at:  10:30 pm 

 

EXERCISE LOG

34 mins fast walking with the Lab

 

INNER WORK

I have had a lot of momentary cravings the past few days.  It is so predictable.  Here’s the scenario:

I try to check off some errand or call from my To Do list, but there’s some obstacle and I cannot get it done (like the place is closed, I have to leave a message instead getting an answer, or I need to get something else first, or I need more money to do it, or someone’s schedule doesn’t work at the time it worked for me).  Within minutes of feeling the frustration of having to replan, reorganize, come back home, etc., I get the bright idea that I want a creamy, sweet coffee, or a glass of wine if it’s the end of the day, or I want to just grab some fast food while I’m out. 

True, none of those things are sugar, flour or wheat, so eating them would not be the end of the world, but they are just such obvious attempts to numb out the frustration.  What I really need to do is to have a whole tool kit of OTHER skills to deal with stress and frustration, and not have eating comforting, empty calories be the first thing I habitually think of under those circumstances.  Because as sure as anything, there is going to be some stress and frustration, probably at least one thing, in any given day.

The good news is that as soon as it happens, I generally catch myself within a few seconds or minutes, and just turn away from that thought.  I usually tell myself something like, “That’s not going to work anymore,” or That’s doesn’t help this situation, or, “No thank you, I do not want to numb out anymore,” or “Ooops!  That’s an OLD habit.  Bye!”  And I just let it go.

I’m assuming that eventually I will not have those thoughts as much!  Now that I think of it, I could develop some powerful affirmations for my tool kit. 

The 6 Most Important Steps for Affirmations

Here’s a typical thought:                                                                Eating junk food is bad.

  1. Make it positive (something I DO want):   Eating healthy food is good.
  2. State it in the 1st person(me):   I want to eat healthy food.
  3. Use the present tense (now, as if it’s already true):   I now eat healthy food.
  4. Make it rich with sensual and evocative descriptors:   I now eat meals of delicious, nutritious and healing food, with great textures and variety!
  5. Find personally meaningful anchors/phrases:   I automatically and immediately choose to eat delicious, nutritious and healing textures and varieties of food that satisfy me completely! 
  6. Pare it down to the simplest statements:   I immediately choose the best food for me!                    or           My food choices satisfy me completely!

 The words in these affirmations feel very powerful to me, but they may not seem very meaningful to you.  The further you refine your affirmations, the more subjective they become.  It’s fine to start with someone else’s affirmations, but to really make them work for you, you have to fiddle with them until the words really conjure up a gut sensation of wellbeing and empowerment!

NEVER DOUBT THE POWER OF THE WORDS YOU CHOOSE.

The thought manifests as the word. The word manifests as the deed. The deed develops into habit. And the habit hardens into character.

Better than a thousand hollow words, is one word that brings peace.

– Buddha  (Read more)

Whatever I focus on, expands, so an affirmation doesn’t mention anything about the thought/feeling/behavior I no longer want.  Instead, it focuses only on something I want to experience more often or to a greater degree.  The better the words I choose help me to get the feeling in my body, a strong positive emotion in my heart and a clear mental picture, the more effective (and fun!) it will be.

Longer affirmations are really juicy, and satisfying to read regularly when I have time.  I also need a few short, concise statements that are in my memory for immediate use when a challenge arises.

I often start with a time in my life that I felt the way I would like to feel now.  It could be a completely different situation, but the feeling is what I’m seeking.

It doesn’t matter whether I believe this affirmation or not, just that I could believe it.  A helper phrase to add to the beginning of an affirmation that still feels like a stretch to accept could be:

I am willing to believe that…(my food choices satisfy me completely)!

And in the meantime, I will be working to eliminate the stresses that I can.

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
Courage to change the things I can,
And wisdom to know the difference.

Reinhold Niebuhr

About innerhealthjourney

I'm a healer. I am into new age spirituality, healthy food, hiking and disc golf.
This entry was posted in Abstinence, Conscious Creation. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DAY 47

  1. nalini says:

    Hey – how about using EFT here? It seems to me that this is a genuine stimulus response that has a genuine physical effect which shows itself as a craving. When I have certain types of thoughts that have a rolling effect, this will happen to me. And so – I hit frustration and I can’t get what I want. My thoughts inevitably travel twice the speed of light that I cannot read them – but will experience a sinking feeling in my heart, and ultimately my stomach becomes involved because I am certain an adrenaline cycle was triggered. That then becomes: I would like a grilled cheese sandwich, etc.

    The thoughts run: Oh my god, this always happens to me, this will never change .. I can never do this, … I have no control and no one ever helps … I suck … I cannot take care of my own needs … what will happen to me???? I will end up in ditch somewhere living out of my car .. or dead.

    You laugh? Yeah …

Leave a Reply

