DAY 54

BIG DAY!

I had my weigh in and actually made my goal! Very rare in the past. I’ve lost over 8 pounds since the New Year when this blog started! That’s about a pound per week, or 4 pounds per month, on average. This past weekend, I noticed I’d lost 2 pants sizes, from size 18 to 14 now!

Oh, and the best part? I won the bet with my dad. I lost 15 lbs. before him, from uh, last winter I think, when I was 185 lbs. $15 big ones for that. Yeah, bragging rights mostly.

MULTIPLE LEVELS OF SUPPORT
I like this external validation, because I realy cannot tell much difference by looking in the mirror. I would get discouraged if I didn’t have a more objective way to see the progress.

My food plan also makes it hard to tell. Why? Because I’m so well supported on it that I haven’t been hungry, craving much or feeling any deprivation. I eat satisfying delicious meals that are full of nutrition!

My food plan was stressful to accomplish sometimes in the past, but now that I’ve simplified it, it helps my peace of mind– I don’t have to constantly figure out what to eat. The basic structure (measurements, categories, timing) is there; I just plug in the foods for the day.

Believe it or not, this blog has helped me accomplish my goal. I have been tempted, from time to time, even when I wasn’t hungry, to grab a bite of something I promised to abstain from. Shocking! Even today, there was a sugary, floury treat just lying out there in front of me, freely offered and as much as I wanted. I really do think my promise on this blog was the one thing that overcame the demon on my shoulder who always whispers, “Oh come on. One won’t hurt!” In my more sane moments, I know the demon is lying, because once I get that taste in my mouth and the sugar digestion kicks in, I always want more. But I don’t know if I can be sane all the time when there’s a platter of stuff just sitting out there in plain view, for God’s sake!

What I HAVE noticed is that I feel better, think more clearly, have calmer moods and have a lot more energy. I’ve been feeling that my daily exercise and inner work commitments are also helping me to achieve these things. They were originally conceived to help with the spiritual, mental and emotional baggage that manifests as extra fat on me, and a lack of joie de vivre. Of course they have their own benefits and that was understood from the beginning. I wanted a total life makeover!

OVERCOMING FEAR AND SCARCITY
There is a small part of me that would like the weight loss to go a little faster. It’s tempting to look around and see how fast the weight comes off for some people, especially in the beginning. I think my partner lost 10-15 pounds per month in the first few months. They lose crazy amounts like that in one WEEK on The Biggest Loser! I worry that if it’s coming off this slow for me, and I’m at the beginning, then maybe it’ll stop completely later.

Then I think that maybe it’ll STAY off if it comes off slower. After all, it seems unlikely that there’ll be any diet rebound; no deprivation or malnutrition, so no backlash. Psychologically I’m getting used to the weight leaving more slowly, so I can organically adopt other coping strategies to take the place of the weight.

Plus, my sponsor said 3-10 pounds a month is good in the beginning. 😀

Overall, I’m pretty grateful, and happy with the way this is going!

20120224-180655.jpg

FOOD LOG

Meal #1: 8:15am – Bowl of Heaven (recipe)

Meal #2: 11:15am 1 c popcorn, 2 oz roast turkey, 12 oz diet Mountain Dew. This was where the sugary, floury treats were laid out — I’m not perfect 😉

Meal #3: 1:30pm – 2 c Grain Free Tabouli (recipe) , including 1 T EVOO

Meal #4: 3:45pm – 8 oz DFM pecan encrusted tofu cutlets, 2 c sautéed collard greens with onions and garlic

Meal #5: 6:30pm – 2 handfuls tortilla chips, 1/4 c queso, 20 oz beer

Sleep at 10:30pm

EXERCISE LOG

rest day

INNER WORK:

Gratitude List: Riding around in my lovely new car, another offer of steady work, my awesome partner, my yoga/pilates classes, support from friends near and far…

About innerhealthjourney

I'm a healer. I am into new age spirituality, healthy food, hiking and disc golf.
This entry was posted in Conscious Creation, Spiritual Guidance, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to DAY 54

  1. nalini says:

    Yay to new car!

    This was very enjoyable to read this morning … to be able to acknowledge your progress … I think eight pounds is amazing, and research does show slower is better for the body. Stand in front of that mirror until you see it!

  2. Mari says:

    Huge congratulations! Steady loss I think will be easier to keep off as you create those new good habits. Keep it going!

Leave a Reply

