DAY 69

FOOD LOG

Meal #1: 8am – 2 eggs over easy on 2 slices Ezekiel toast, 1/2 T butter, Pina Colada Smoothie using soymilk base

Meal #2: 12:15pm – 1/2 oz almonds, green juice

Meal #3: 3:30pm – 2 c White Bean Turkey Chili, 2 c Asparagus soup

Meal#4: 7:30pm – 4 c Smartfood in bed

Meal#5: 11pm – Cherry Smoothie using kefir base

EXERCISE LOG

25 mins walk outdoors

INNER WORK
Read more of 90 Minutes in Heaven, by Don Piper

I read the chapter about giving praise no matter what your circumstances.

The author was in constant pain from his injuries, repeated surgeries and a device that painfully stretched his broken bones to make them grow a new section that was lost in his car accident.

He was pissed off, depressed, didn’t want to live and wanted to go back to the bliss of heaven that he briefly experienced while pronounced dead by EMTs. He finally realized that his stoic refusal to graciously accept the help of his friends, family and congregation is depriving them of a way to show him their love.

It reminded me that no matter if you are used to being the caretaker or being in charge, it is still necessary to be able to be vulnerable enough to receive others’ help. I have been more comfortable being in control; it can become a habit. Recent calamities in life–being broke and out of work, breaking my ankle last year, making a career transition over the past 3 years and needing for input from trusted friends–have literally forced me to accept help. It was uncomfortable at first, but now I’m glad to be able to show more vulnerability. Otherwise I’m not sure I would know the answer to the question that comes up at times, “Who really loves me?”.

About innerhealthjourney

I'm a healer. I am into new age spirituality, healthy food, hiking and disc golf.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to DAY 69

  1. nalini says:

    Your inner work is very interesting and deep … I wonder if you have the message that you are not to need help?

    • I’m pretty sure I got that message. As a baby I was left to cry alone, a la Dr. Spock, and later growing up, was expected to suck it up. Not necessarily, “I don’t need help,” just that it felt pointless to want it, ask for it or expect it, because I don’t remember it coming. Not much comforting or guidance with emotional coping skills.

      I think I’m a bit immature when it comes to that at times. I just get to a point where I’m too frustrated and have used the resources I know sometimes, then just blow out with an angry outburst, always thinking that the other person involved does not really care to work it out and is not on my side.

  2. Dana says:

    I love you so my sweet Innerhealthjourney do!!!

    I love all the ways our life dance provides the opportunities for me to demonstrate my appreciation and gratitude for you!

    Dana

Leave a Reply

