DAY 101

FOOD LOG

Meal #1:   9:30am  –  8 oz green juice, 2 slices Ezekiel toast, 1/2 T butter, Cherry Smoothie ( 1 c soymilk, 4 oz frozen cherries, 2 oz pineapple, 18g vegetable protein, 20 drops stevia)

Meal #2:   3pm  –  4 oz shrimp and 1 c brown rice, sautéed in a pan with a little olive oil spray, 1 t Old Bay seasoning, Frank’s hot sauce, diced onions and fresh garlic; sautéed zucchini and onions

I used frozen shrimp from Kroger, already deveined and peeled, so this meal only took 15 mins to prepare

Meal #3:  9pm  –  5 oz ground turkey on a bed of mixed baby greens, beets, cilantro and 1 oz goat cheese, 1 T NO, 8 oz red potatoes with carraway seeds

EXERCISE LOG

30 mins bicycle CyclOps trainer.  Felt easy and good.

 

INNER WORK

My spiritual life feels virtually nonexistent lately.  Worked 15 extra hours last week and will work 12 extra this week.  This when I was barely hanging on with the new job’s regular hours.  Should be back to normal next week.  But talk about survival mode!  There is very little attention to higher thoughts when I can barely get in all the work, sleep and meals; exercise is the next to suffer, so I’m very grateful I’ve been getting that in.

I did finally catch up on the phone with my mom and then my sister, which is good for my soul.

I had to have a talk with my partner, about why I have such a short fuse lately  –  survival mode!  Not much humor or patience in that state of mind.  Although the times I got upset were when I was having a really nice time, finally managing to catch a little downtime, just doing some mindless shopping, or playing, and felt like I was being asked to account for my time or whereabouts.  That was what I was trying to get away from!  It really feels like a matter of mental health to have some unscheduled and unrestricted time with no place to be and no deadlines or commitments–“downtime.”

I was pleased that I was able to become objective about it, be calm and state my point of view, not make anyone else wrong and ask for what I need, and feel heard.  So some sanity exists in all the time pressure and stress.

About innerhealthjourney

I'm a healer. I am into new age spirituality, healthy food, hiking and disc golf.
This entry was posted in Abstinence, Step Work. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DAY 101

  1. Dana says:

    I am unfortunately right there with you- short fuse and all.
    Downtime is so needed! I so get it! Seems like balance of work and play gets off kilter so easily! I am sure a new way will appear!

    • Thanks for the empathy. I’m sorry you’re going through the same things!

      I just realized today (after a short nap) that the feeling of being in survival mode – constantly rushed and behind schedule, and lacking sleep alot lately — is really a hindrance to the conscious creation of what I want in my life. It feels like struggle… and scarcity! It seems very difficult, for me at least, to convince my mind and body that there is plenty of goodness, and more coming, when they are so obviously feeling the opposite. And it carries over to the rest of my life after a while. I can see how important it is to keep from over committing. I didn’t realize I was doing that to myself by agreeing to more work shifts last week, but I did this week, and did it anyway, to “help out,” and to “get more money.” In fact it is probably creating scarcity of money and other things to feel this way for an extended period of time. This is the last time I will agree to it. I have 3 more nights of work (2 extra) and then I’m done with that.

Leave a Reply

