Hello Again!

If you read my last post (on April 22), you can probably guess why I’ve been absent.

I did get too busy and overwhelmed, and I did fall away from my planned nutrition and activities, including blogging. It’s a learning process.

I have since made several starts into eating healthy and exercising regularly, and have been intermittent in my efforts. I did eventually eat sugar and flour while traveling, and that opened the door to eating those items on other occasions that were avoidable. My mind set was lost.

My birthday and vacation came and went, and I didn’t do horribly with them. I haven’t quit or lost interest in my goals. I did gain back 3 pounds, which I have since lost, so I’m basically where I left off in that regard.

It was just that I had been falling behind, posting after the fact, and then had gotten out of the daily habit. I wanted to reevaluate my priorities and decide just how much blogging I could realistically do and where it falls in my list of priorities. Sometimes it felt like I had to choose between blogging and other basic things like sleep or exercise, so something was not working for me!

Really what was happening was I was leaving important things to the last of the day, and that is not the way for me to make sure they were accomplished, but I couldn’t seem to work out my schedule to do everything I wanted.

Let me just say, that I have felt physically horrible at times, as a result of eating too much food and especially the sugar and flour. It starts innocently enough, a little here or there in a beverage, say a coffee to perk up for my evening job, a white bread sandwich, then it just keeps increasing over days and weeks. Feels like a combo of loss of mental resolve, and probably the addictive effects of the refined carbs.

I have lost my mental strictnesss now, and I am planning to do a jumpstart in the coming week. That for me involves setting up a plan that I commit to, and the physical aspect of breaking the current habits. I am “winding down” from sugar, flour, meat and caffeine, before I actually start a juice fast. That simply means eliminate the most detrimental first: Yesterday (day 1) I stopped having any more flour, today (day 2) I stopped having any more sugar or caffeine (ongoing), tomorrow (day 3) will be no more meat or cheese through days 4 & 5 I’ll just have cultured dairy, grains, fruit and vegetables (cooked and raw). No cooked (only raw fruit and vegetables) on days 6 & 7, maybe 8.

Then I’ll see if I’m ready to juice only, based on my schedule and mental readiness. I have a 5k trail run scheduled on day 6. My joints will probably already have stopped their aching and stiffness, and I’ll probably have much more energy already! I haven’t given myself much time to train, so I’m not expecting much. Just to participate will be fun.

Just to be clear, the fruit will be very minimal; my solid and juiced fruits will be proportionately low (maybe 20% of my intake, taken before exercising). The rest will be green and orange and yellow veggies; lower sugar; not a lot of carrot juice. There is still plenty of sugars in all the common vegetables, except the leafy greens, and they are loaded with protein and minerals. I will most likely go to the farmers market everyday, to get the freshest produce that my body is wanting that day. I plan to juice for a week or two, just taking cues from my body, as I will be carrying on my usual work and exercise schedule.

My goal is to transition to a vegetarian lifestyle, but my body and mind feel addicted to the meat and cheese right now. Each time I’ve tried to lay off it, I feel so “hungry.” That is certainly just habit, because the fact is, there is plenty of protein and every other nutrient in vegetables, fruit and grain. A juice cleanse is the perfect way to break a bad eating habit.

In my experience, the first week is the most tiring, when the organs and cells are immediately eliminating wastes and toxins. This will be moderated some, with the solid food “wind down” preceding the juicing. Some of the major detoxing will already be underway as soon as the sugar and then the animal products are gone.

That is one of the coolest things about our bodies; literally the same day we stop the offending, heavy, processed and adulterated foods, the body wants to express as much life force as it possibly can, and it uses the extra available energy to clean house first.

It’s like going to the cabin at the lake (or beach, or mountains-just substitute your favorite rejuvenation place here). You arrive, excited at the change of scenery, and promise of fun and relaxation. That excitement energy drives you to easily clean up and air out the old cabin – dust, vacuum, make the beds with fresh sheets, open the windows, stock the kitchen – despite being tired from the journey! Now with everything set up, you can relax and unwind, daydream the next stage of your life and express your true self. Same with your body!

About innerhealthjourney

I'm a healer. I am into new age spirituality, healthy food, hiking and disc golf.
This entry was posted in Cleansing and Detox. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

